Facing the Challenges of Training

Running is challenging but so is life. If we choose, these challenges can add much value to our life. They build perseverance, prevent boredom, and give you interesting stories to tell. Although workouts are almost always tough, there are many things that can make them even more challenging. Here are a few examples of how the added difficulties in training has made great memories!

Blizzards

One of the workouts that I enjoyed the most during my first year at university was one we did during a blizzard. During this workout, there were points where the wind took our breath away. Doing some shorter fast intervals, we were slipping and falling on the slushy and icy ground. Thankfully for the last set, we put on spikes and were able to run a bit faster. The workout ended with a cool down in which several of the other girls soaked their feet in an ice-cold puddle. Although it was a challenge, it was a great bonding time with my teammates (we spent days after this talking about it).

Altitude

Last spring, my team and I went to South Dakota to do some training at altitude. While there, we had fun exploring the area and running. A few days after we arrived there, we did a long run. Up until this point, I hadn’t noticed any difficulties with living and training at altitude. During this run, I pushed the pace with the guys on the first half (not realizing that we were running downhill on the way out). Ten minutes after we turned around, I was struggling to keep up with them and breathing hard. 

Later on that week, we did a track workout. Because it snowed that night, there was snow on the track when we got there. With the combination of the sun and Kip shovelling, the track was clear enough to run on by the time we finished our warmup. We did a 2mile and then a bunch of 400m. By the time I had finished seven 400m, my legs were done, I had to sit down. Never before had I felt that urge before I finished a workout. Even though it was tough, I let Kip help me back up and finished one last rep. I wasn’t the only one on my team that had a great workout, though. From legs cramping up to shouts of pain, pretty much everyone else hit their limit for the workout that day.

Cold pools

Before doing the pool workout, I was informed that the pool was freezing cold. Not quite understanding freezing cold meant (thinking it would be cold but that I could endure it), we went to the swimming pool to start the pool workout. As soon as I jumped into the pool, I understood what freezing cold meant (think of bone-numbing, breath-stealing, and brain freezing giving cold). Despite the cold, we started swimming. A few strokes into the swim, I made a beeline to the side of the pool (just in case my body decided it could not support me in the water because it was too cold) and I changed to swimming with my head up (because I could not breathe if I put my head in the water and it gave me a brain freeze). Not wanting to wimp out and hoping someone else would decide to end the workout, I continued to freeze (I mean swim). Finally, after seven minutes, we decided that it was probably best if we went for a run and save the pool workout for another day when the water was warmer.

Yes, training in these conditions can be uncomfortable and challenging but they also build perseverance and adds variety to training. When faced with challenges, you can either choose to give in, be miserable or joyfully accept the challenge. Even though I do not always choose it, I find that joyfully accepting the challenge brings the most satisfaction.

Leave a comment